Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Any Caterers or Professional Chefs out there?

Hi, I am just starting the process but ready to get through the list of "must-dos" to get to my surgery date.

I am a wedding caterer and event planner at a large catering company. I am around incredible, yummy and plentiful food every single day at work. Is anyone out there in the food/hospitality business that can share tips on how they managed your business life after your surgery?

I am in sales - so much of my time is entertaining clients with drinks, dinners, etc. Not sure how to manage that part of my job while following the post op plan.

Thanks in advance!

S

I'm NOT a professional chef; but one of my greatest fears was not being able to cook for others, cook a lot of food and if I was going to be despondent that I couldn't eat a lot of food, etc.

I can cook for others, etc. That all worked out fine.

Initially, you will (or should be) so focused on not doing anything to violate your surgery, or to stretch out your stomach. That 'fear' [commitment] alone will give you the discipline to not do wrong.

Let them eat cake, etc. You'll learn how to carry that glass [champagne flute] of Water and make it last the whole night, etc. Pick the proteins--shrimp cocktails, crab cakes, etc. Later, you'll still get to eat some of that stuff, but be careful....one you get started with those carbs, it's hard to stop.

It will be nice to hear if there are any caterers here, to see their advice. ALSO read about some popular TV chef who had the sleeve. I forgot his name. he was on the TODAY Show. Google 'TV Chef Sleeve surgery Today' or something like that. Natalie M interviewed him.

Good luck.

I own two restaurants, have a successful catering company, AND do lots of personal appearances for food, cooking, restaurant consulting, etc.

My BIGGEST worry was how I would be able to work at my places (with all the food I love the most!) and not pick, snack, or just be miserable.