Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Just got my date! 12/15

Hi everyone

I have been reading some of the posts for a while, but this is my first time writing. I just got my date...12/15.... Now I am completely nervous...lol. Excited, anxious, scared, elated, hopeful.....just to name a few. I can't believe I am doing this....I am a mom of 3, my 2 boys are 4 1/2 and almost 3. They are both autistic, I also have a 16 year old step daughter who lives full time with me....I never do anything for myself, this will be the first time I am taking care of me. It's funny, I have been so confident about having this surgery, but now that I officially have a date I am starting to worry... Will I still be me after the surgery? It might sound dumb, but I don't know how to be a healthy person. I am not talking about eating healthy, I mean I don't know how to act, I usually like to be invisible, (most overweight people do) am I going to be that way after the weight comes off? Sorry for the strange post, I think I just needed to share my thoughts.

Congrats on the date! As far as the rest only time will tell but hopefully you will be you only better!

It's funny that you talked about wanting to feel invisible because I've always felt the same way. I'm a mom of two daughters 8 and 2 with a step daughter too. I never wanted to be some hot mama, just an average woman that didn't stick out in a crowd. I had my surgery on Aug 19th. I've lost 62 pounds since I started my 2 week preop diet at 228 pounds. Now I weigh 166 and I look NORMAL! I wasn't invisible before, I stuck out in a crowd because of my size. Now I'm just NORMAL! And it feels great! When I go out I just look like a well dressed, put together woman and mother. I actually blend in so much better now! Lol! I can't even begin to tell you how happy I am that I had the surgery and I was CRYING on the surgery table about to walk out while they were putting me under! You will be so happy too! Good luck!