Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Can i still lose weight while pregnant

So I'm about to be 30 and I'm ready to have my 1 more baby I'm 245.. was 300 when banded 5 years ago was 189 when i got pregnant with 1st child. My question is this im still pretty big .. has anyone still lost weight during pregnancy and been ok.. i still wonna work out lightly n walk while I'm pregnant and eat well and continue to lose weight

Hi! I truly think this is something you should talk to your health care provider about. I don't want to seem like a know-it-all but I'm actually studying maternity and high risk pregnancies and this is a huge topic. Obesity and pregnancy don't go well together. It is the #1 reason for post partum hemorrhage and there are so many other risk factors that can effect your pregnancy if your overweight. Plan your next pregnancy- be at a healthy BMI when you conceive and you won't have to worry about loosing weight. Dieting while pregnant is not recommended and isn't safe for the baby- they need the nutrients to develop correctly. I hope this helps!

I know this is a few months after the fact, but I thought I would add my two cents.

I have an 11 year old and I am pretty sure I went un-diagnosed as having gestational diabetes (GD). He was born at 10 lbs. 2 oz. I also gained 40 pounds during that pregnancy.

With my second, 7 years old, I wanted to make sure that I got tested earlier. My sis had a baby between my oldest and my second and she was diabetic and she was fit and healthy. Had a new doc the 2nd time who told me I almost certainly was GD the first go-round and he tested me early in my 2nd trimester. Def GD. I ended up on an insulin pump during my 3rd trimester since I was giving myself around 4-5 shots of insulin every day.