Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I am sooooo nervous...

Hello All!

I am a newbie here :) I just came on here to talk about this whole journey and vent alittle. Sometimes I feel really alone and that not many people understand all the emotions I am feeling. I am currently going through the process of getting approved for the gastric sleeve surgery and today I found out that all of my weight history documentation was sent to the doctor office I am getting my surgery through. Even though my packet hasn't been sent for approval; it is still a relief that portion is complete. It was crazy how hard it was to get my own information sent out and making sure that the different offices had sent it. I have my consultation on Monday, Oct.6th and then after that they will send my packet of to insurance. I am so nervous about getting the approval!! Eventhough I meet all the critera, I just have this constant fear that something is going to jack the whole thing up.. smh! Then I am nervous about the whole actually having the surgery and the post-op experience. I just feel a little overwhelmed and I havent even gotten to the hard part! Is that normal or am I totally being psycho lol...

Everyone on this board has gone through most of what you are going through right now. I was sleeved on Sept. 10. I was also perplexed at the number of hoops that the insurance people make you jump through. My doctor's office made it as easy for me as possible. The faxes went flying from every doctor to every doctor! Somehow I managed. I was at a point where I knew my health required a vertical sleeve. I resolved that I would get all my ducks in a row, so to speak, and if the insurance people did not approve of my surgery, I was going to get the surgery anyway and pay for it myself. I was desperate.