Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How necessary is this pre-op diet?

I'm reading a lot of stories and responses by people regarding the pre-op diet. I am not, not, NOT a sweets eater so it takes me literally HOURS to finish one Protein Drink. I hate every single brand I've tried. I am a teacher and on the first day I started one at 9:30 and finished at noon. Then it took me the rest of the day to get the other one down! I followed it to the letter for five days (lost six pounds) and then started to add more proten because I felt weak from the lack of calories. Now I'm reading forums from lots of people who say their doctors did not make them follow it, some who said it actually wasn't necessary, etc. I had two friends from two different doctors who were NOT told to follow it and three friends from three different doctors who WERE told to follow it. I understand the part about shrinking the liver, but I have a gut feeling that the real reason is twofold: one, so that we don't eat ourselves into oblivion (which I was doing before the pre-op diet), and two, so that the all-liquid diet afterwards doesn't feel like such a shock. I think this is boiling down to a doctor's preference. Not sure now why any of this is necessary . . . I feel like I'm starving!

Edited by Luana526

Have you tried the nectar Protein drinks like Roadside Lemonade? Caribbean chiller? They are not on the sweeter side, and aren't thick like a Protein shake. Also, you can add 1 T. of sugar-free Jello, pudding or even cocoa to cut the sweetness. There is also unflavored Protein powder that mixes easily with anything. Also, powders?utm_source=BariatricPal&utm_medium=Affiliate&utm_campaign=CommentLink" target="_ad" data-id="1" >unjury chicken Soup is good.

My doctor required a 2-week pre-op diet and I did what I was told to do. I looked at it like a challenge, and a hoop I had to jump through to get where I needed to be. It's tough, but nothing about WLS is easy.