Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

ISO Low BMI Sleeve Mentor

I have a low BMI (35.6) and truly only one co-morbity issues (border line BP). I'm actually one of those truly healthy fat people. I only want to lose around 50 pounds although by BMI standards, I should be around 120. I do suffer from chronic pain in my knees and feet which is the result of any attempt to exercise as I get older. I just turned 40 an have ben contemplating this for 2 years. I decided that I don't want to live the next 40 years in a constant state of yo-yo dieting....I've been doing that for at last 30 years and I'm done! I need a mentor that can help guide me and support me through this process.. My doc has already told me to stop all attempts at weightloss until my surgery since I can't afford to lose any and still be approved. I won't lose 40 pounds in the first month like others so I'm looking for someone that had a similar experience that I can relate to.

Wow. I had to reread your post to see if I had written it! I am in a similar situation. Have been obese forever. But with BMIs in low 30s. A hysterectomy and lack of attention to exercise and eating well caused me to balloon up and I have been miserable. My BMI is around 36.5 to 37.

I have no obvious diabetes or sleep apnea so co morbities were high blood pressure and gerd.

I did not think I would be approved and just in the last half hour, received a call that I was indeed approved! I am in shock. I am

52. So may be too old to be a buddy to you, but, I am so glad to know others are pursuing this before all hell breaks loose in the body.

No, you are too old. I will take advice from anyone. I'm hoping that I get approved. I feel like I'm gaining weight everyday since I can't lose any which is killing me b/c I don't remember the last time I wasn't on a diet. I hope his isn't all for not.