Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Give it to me straight.

Hi All!

I'm new to all this and have my surgery in a week and a half (Aug 19th). I have been reading all your posts and you are all so brave and truly inspiring! I applaud you all! Bravo! I have heard many conflicting accounts of what post op will look like that first week. Mostly people are using words like "hard, difficult, etc." I'm just taking one week off work and I'd like to know everyone's personal accounts of how their first week or two went so I know what I'm in for. Please be as specific as possible. Were you tired, weak, in pain, do you have children to care for and what is your profession, how soon did you go back and what was it like, etc, etc. I'm on the two week pre surgery diet and as this gets more and more real I'm getting more and more nervous.

The first month was hard for me. I spent 2 weeks wondering why I had done this to myself. The surgery itself was not painful, to me anyways. I have had a c-section and gall stone surgery, so I knew what to expect. What I didn't expect was to feel pain when I ate or even drank Water. I HATED the pureed stage, I had to force myself to eat. Luckily, that only lasted 2 weeks. The good news is, it gets better after a month. I am now 4 months out and starting to feel normal again. I am a teacher and was off work for 2 months. I needed those 2 months, but many people go back after a few weeks. I guess it depends on what kind of job you have. I have a 5 year old daughter, but my mom was helping with that. If your kids aren't too young, you should be ok, just no lifting them for a while. Walking really does make a difference. Get moving right away if you can, it will make your recovery easier. Make sure to get all your water in, that's hard at the beginning, keep a water bottle with you at all times and sip, sip, sip. Good luck.

Hi there.

Congrats to you! This is a life-changer.