Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Got my date! (Aaaaand, now I'm having 2nd thoughts)

Hi all!

I GOT A DATE! I have been crossing my fingers since the beginning that it would be this summer as I'm a teacher, so it would minimize sick time. With almost every step, things have miraculously fallen into place, and I've been able to fly through and get appointments earlier than expected, etc. Well, the surgeon's secretary called today to say they had an opening on August 13th, and I took it. This is what I've been waiting for for months (a lifetime maybe?).

And now I'm scared. I know the science behind it. I know why it's better than my previous attempts (whi*****lude everything out there). I know why I want to lose the weight and how much easier and healthier my life will be when I do. Suddenly, though, I have this nagging voice in my head. It says, "This is the easy way out. This isn't the right choice. You're rushing into this. You're still not going to keep the weight off. This is NUTS." Did any of you go through this? I know I have a great surgeon. I have read hundreds of success stories on here. I have unbelievable support from my family and friends. Still, though, I can't shake this feeling.

Anyone else?

-Ginnie

I didn't go through this but what I was told and what I believe is this is NOT the easy way out. being 3 months post op there is nothing easy about this process. you have to be very calculated in everything you do. Getting the right amount of excercise, eating the right foods and enough of them, taking all of your Vitamins, drinking plenty of Water...it's not the easy way out although some people feel it is.