Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hey guys,

I've been exploring surgery as an option for several months now, doing research and such. I recently learned that my employer has WLS as an exclusion on our plans (we use United Healthcare) so I would have to pay for all of it out of pocket. :/

I have a couple of questions, though (just need some help, I'm a complete newb at insurance). We're about to have open enrollment again for the company next week, should I consider ditching insurance through my employer and paying for a different plan through a provider that does cover it?

Or should I see if there's a different/supplemental plan my employer/UHC has that does cover WLS?

Sorry if any of that is jumbled or confusing, I'm just looking for some advice to see what I should do next.

Thanks in advance!

Call UHC and ask them if they have an additional policy that covers WLS and if they do which one of the WLS do they cover.

Now about the other insurance company call the representative and ask them what WLS they cover. They might cover one and not another so ask. Very important.

From that information that you get you make your decision of what to do.

Good luck.

The Healthcare Marketplace has plans that cover WLS. healthcare.gov

Pick any gold plan that covers most the surgery and co-pays. I have sliver plan but the doctor was out of network.

I also have UHC. They would not cover wls at all! If you can afford it, shop for another insurance. Call the facility that performs wls and ask them which insurance groups cover wls, then go from there. I will be paying for the lap band myself. Good luck.

Hello Phewforaminutethere,

I totally sympathize - I lost four years of my life to UHC's WLS exclusions. Unforatunately you're dealing with a heartless, amoral company that doesn't think twice about ruining people's lives.