Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Vegetarian (Almost Vegan) Looking for tips before Surgery (September I hope)

Hello to everyone who reads my post!!

My name is Mikki, and I am a newbie to the VSG surgery. I first met my doctor 2 years ago, and I had thought that knowing this surgery would be the final straw, that I would do soemthing to get my weight in order. Finally, as of January 2014, I have found the mental strength to take control of my life. I changed my habits and started to adopt a vegetarian (transitioning to Vegan) lifestyle. I have never felt better, and I have noticed the weight is coming off on its own now. I have also started to deal with my internal struggles, which has also helped tremendously!

Now, for the question: Is it possible to live a vegan lifestyle post-op? The nurse advised me that I would need to drink ideal Protein for two weeks before my surgery. Is there a vegan option out there instead? If any of you veterans have any links, or another post in the forum that offers advice or tips, I would LOVE it if you would reply to my post.

I am a bit afraid (knowing the worst case scenario outcome), and am trying to breathe and relax and know that I am doing the best thing I possible can for my body and my life.

I would really enjoy meeting some friends and a support group of people experiencing the same thing I am, or who would like to be there to hold my hand throughout this journey!

Thank you for reading!

Mikki

Just google vegan Protein shakes--there are some! I am just starting myself so can't give you much more info--good luck in your journey :)

My husband and I went Vegan close to 2 years ago, unfortunately we did not lose weight .

I am trying to maintain a vegan/vegatarian diet, I am now 5 days post-op with my sleeve

My nutrionist had no experience with plant based Protein supplements so I did all the research myself. There are several I am using now, since I do not like using whey.