Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

What I let grief do to me.

I've told myself a million times I would never have bariatric surgery. I work in a hospital that does the procedures, I admit the patients have the surgery. I thought they were taking the easy way out, it's cheating. I lost 50 lbs on Weight Watchers, and going to the gym religioulsy. My mom passed away unexpectedly and my boyfriend was diagnosed with kidney failure all in the same week, right before Christmas 2010. I was beyond devestated, I know why people drink or take drugs. If you can have 1 minute of peace or semblence of your old life you would do anything to escape. I was afraid to drink, I may not stop. So I ate pretty much whatever I wanted. I never considerd myself a emotional eater, I still don't. As my clothes no longer started to fit, I bought yoga pants. This has been my staple wardrobe for the last 4 years. I didn't care how I looked anyway. Slowly the inablity to sit on low furniture became a problem, my knees hurt going up stairs. We went to Disney World Orlando in January of this year, I could barely fit into some of the rides. And then the worst part, I have sleep apnea! My grandmother was diagnosed with sleep apnea in her late 70's, im 45!!! I tried going back to WW, it's not so easy this time around. It was'nt easy 5 years ago either I really had to work at losing the weight. I didn't have the challenges I have now, I currently weigh 245 lbs. I have never weighed this much. And what a difference in my body and not for the good. Now that im a little more clearhead, i am so angry at what I have done to myself. But also for what I am doing to my loved ones, they couldn't bear another loss so soon. I decided to have Gastric Bypas, this is because in my experience, its what seems to work the best. Im not telling anyone, not my family not even my very best friend. I guess im maybe ashamed, letting everyone down. Maybe im wrong and they would support my decision. My best f