Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Good Morning:

This is my first post on this forum and I'd like to say how amazingly grateful I am for all the information and support. I have really immersed myself in the tide of knowledge and experience contained here, it's almost overwhelming.

In addition to being an aspiring pre-op sleever, I'm also a sober/clean alcoholic/addict. I've been working the steps of AA for 15 years and my wife, who is also a newbie pre-op sleever, has 21 years. We're pretty active in our various programs but neither of us have had much in the way of results working an OA program. Furthermore, I've observed a fair amount of, shall we say "resistance" within the OA community where I live to embrace people who have chosen WLS as a solution.

As much as I like and will continue to use this forum extensively, it seems like it might be difficult to preserve one's anonymity here and the Traditions we observe compel us to guard our anonymity at the public level.

Therefore, I've decided to start a secret group on Facebook called "WLS Support for 12 Steppers" and we are welcoming anyone who is pre-op/post-op WLS of any kind, AND who also happens to be in any 12 Step program regardless of malady. If you are interested in being added to that group, please message me your Facebook email address (which is in the "About" section of your profile) and I will send you an invite.

Thank you for your interest.

O.A. does frown on WLS. It is ultimately up to us though. I too am seven years clean and sober. I am at a place where I know if I put the effort out I can do anything. I love the support of a group of people going through the same thing though. I know Kaiser offers bariatric support classes and they are quite good. A lot of hospitals also offer bariatric support classes. Much luck to you!!!