Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Sleeve Science...A Summary of Some Current Research.

Mostly I wanted to see what the medical literature has to say about VSG and dying. Turns out, it's pretty darn safe - but don't take my word for it, I'm not a medical doctor. Just sharing some research. :)

KEY FINDING: LAP-BAND FAILS 44% OF THE TIME.

This study finds that the LAGB failed as a primary bariatric procedure for 44% of patients due to either inadequate weight loss or adequate weight loss with unmanageable symptoms. This suggests that the LAGB [lapband] should be abandoned as a primary bariatric procedure for the majority of morbidly obese patients due to its high failure rate.

Kindel, T., Martin, E., Hungness, E., & Nagle, A. (2013). High failure rate of the laparoscopic-adjustable gastric band as a primary bariatric procedure. Surgery for Obesity and Related Diseases.

KEY FINDING: SLEEVE REDUCES GHRELIN AND IS MORE SUCCESSFUL THAN GASTRIC BANDING.

As a consequence of resection of the gastric fundus, the predominant area of human ghrelin production, ghrelin is significantly reduced after LSG but not after LAGB. This reduction remains stable at a follow-up 6 months postoperatively, which may contribute to the superior weight loss when compared with LAGB.

Langer, F. B., Hoda, M. R., Bohdjalian, A., Felberbauer, F. X., Zacherl, J., Wenzl, E., ... & Prager, G. (2005). Sleeve gastrectomy and gastric banding: effects on plasma ghrelin levels. Obesity surgery, 15(7), 1024-1029.

KEY FINDING: LSG IS SAFE AND EFFECTIVE (as far as we know in the short-term).