Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Extended release anti-depressants

Hey everyone, just wondering if anyone knows of any problems with the extended release anti-depressants after VSG. I'm not really good with medical/pharmaceutical terminology but my concern is basically that the extended release tablets keep the medicine going for a lot longer than the non extended release meds. I don't know with such a small stomach pouch if it will cause it to not release as well or release too quickly. Anyone have any experience?

Doc hasn't said anything about not being able to take my meds. I definitely can't see going through this experience without them!

I am on cymbalta and it is all good here.

This is a really good question. My surgeon would not involve himself w/ my meds. I was unable to get an appt w/ my MD prior to the surgery & this was a large stressor the first 2 weeks postop.

I opened my Effexor XR & drank the tiny little balls in one tbls milk. The drug worked fine, I did not feel any difference.

I take Lamictal 200 mg daily, I crushed this & again drank the powder down in 1 oz of milk, when I did get into my MD, she wanted the Lamictal to be liquid form so she wrote a new prescription for the duration of my liquid/purée diet.

Crushing those pills and drinking down the powder was the 2nd thing I dreaded each day. I tried putting them in 1 oz of milk or more but then I would have to get all that awful tasting liquid down & I had no more room, I was happier when I started doing each pill in one ounce.

While in the hospital they would not give me my pills, I thought they would supply the liquid or crush them. I thought they would help. This was not the case, they just said don't take them. I get dizzy, can start crying the same day if I miss a dose so again, this was the 2nd most stressful part. In hindsight, I guess I should have just bucked up and faced not taking them for the 2 days I was in the hospital.