Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Am I A Candidate For Vsg - Brutal Honest Feedback Needed

Hi,

I am a newbie here and this is my first post. I have been reading a lot of the posts here and researching VSG. I would like you all to give me some honest feedback on whether I am a suitable candidate for VSG. I feel that others I might ask have a strong bias one way or other --> The doctors are all for it as after all it is what they are selling. My family and friends are all against any kind of surgery .. seeing it as either weak will or me making a mountain out of a mole hill or worse commiting body mutiliation.

You are all a group of strangers but you have walked in these shoes and been there.. I would be very grateful for your candid advice.

So Am I a candidate for VSG

• 40 yr old female
  • 5ft 2in
  • Currently 194 lbs. Never been lower than 125 lbs.
  • Life long issues with weight
  • PCOS for 25 years with related issues (infertility, Hair loss, dark skin in under arms and neck, hirsutism, cystic acne)
  • Diagnosed as Diabetic 3 months ago (A1a of 6.3)
  • High Cholesterol (Triglycerides - 215 / HDL - 3 /| Cholesterol to HDL ratio - 6.4)
  • Most of the weight I carry is on the mid section.
  • Family history of diabetes, High BP, and cardiac issues
  • Have had 2 surgeries prior which resulted in some keloid scarring - C-section and breast reduction for medical reasons (nerve issues, back pain)
  • Am considering VSG as I really really do not want to do a lapband and have that foreign object in me.
  • I eat healthy at home with organic foods, whole grains, made from scratch stuff. But when I do eat out, it is harder. I do have a sweet tooth.
  • Vegetarian --> Protein is going to be an issue. I eat dairy and eggs.< br />
  • I do have 100% coverage via my insurer. This should not influence my decision but I am reading it as medically supported proof.