Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello all,

I am 5 months post op and have lost 140 pounds, everything with my weight loss has been going great. OK I know that chewing tobacco is bad and that I should quit. But I am curious if there is anyone else out there that is post op and chews? Was anyone told by their doctor to not chew post op for reasons other than the normal health concerns?

I have been chewing for the 20+ years off and on (I have tried to quit several times). I managed to quit before my surgery and managed to not chew until a couple of weeks ago. I am going through a divorce and I am starting to get my pre-op hunger levels back so with all of the stress I fell off the wagon. I have not found anything on smokeless tobacco and vertical sleeve surgery. Everything I find is about smoking.

Thanks

I know smoking hinders the healing process, I'm guessing that dipping does the same thing.

one thing you could do is switch to snoos (i think that's how it's spelled). that is at least LESS likely to cause you cancer in your mouth. it comes in little packets & they strain the tar & junk out of it.. my dad uses that... and he doesn't spit it out.

maybe a start to weening you off of it. :)

in any case, i wish you the best & think it's awesome that you've lost 140lb! that is AWESOME! :) keep up the good work!

Number one: if you can't help dipping at least don't swallow. It jacks up your gut and esophagus.

I don't dip, I used to smoke. So I can't add any great advice, other than quitting tobacco can be accomplished. It's tough, but can be done.

to me, dipping is the equivalent of eating an entire chocolate cake..... It's delicious when youre stressed but bad for you in the long run....

just ask yourself, WHY did you get the sleeve? To be healthier, right? Then why do something like dip if it means you aren't going to be healthy?