Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Insulin Pumpers having VSG?

Hi!

I'm new to this sight and highly considering VSG. I am wondering if there are people out there you are insulin dependent diabetics (specifically pump users) who have had or are considering this surgery. If so, how has it affected you diabetes and insulin requirements.

Hi Lynnette and welcome to VST. I can't answer your questions about the diabetes and insulin pumps; however, I did want to welcome you to the forum.

Hi Lynette, I am type 2 diabetic and taking insulin SolarStar 36 units but I'm pre op and due to have my op next month. Dont know if you really wanted to speak to someone who is post-op?

I have insulin resistence and do not use insulin. Typically, I've used 1500 mg of Metformin per day, prior to surgery. After surgery, 5.5 weeks ago, my sugar levels stabilized and my doctor said to only take the Met if needed. However, I have encountered my second weight loss stall - of more than a week - in less than 6 weeks. My doctor checked my sugar levels againg today and said to go back on the Metformin, that the elevated sugar levels could be contributing to my body fighting the weight loss.

It sucks, that's all I know.

I am considering VSG and I am a Type I Diabetic (for over 30 years). I too am using an insulin pump. I had alot of post-op questions. This site is awesome! You can also try the followingt website: www.obesityhelp.com? There is a also a forum for diabetics. I went there to ask questions and found many Type ones who are willing to give advice, share experinences, etc. I hope this helps.

Christine