Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Where are all the seniors?

Is this group dead? I hope not.

I am 65, and at high risk with a high BMI & co-morbidities. I have been studying wls for 10 years. I have Medicare now and can get the surgery. I'm going with the Lap Band. I'm on the pre-op diet, and have lost 25 pounds in 3 months.

I live in Dallas and have chosen the best surgeon in the Southwest, but I am thinking of changing because his office is quite far away. So now I'm looking for the 2nd best surgeon. I'm a member of at least 5 groups to get a balanced view. They range from gastric bypass to lap-band to hard core fanatics who hate the surgeries and have had horrible experiences. I have a lot of links and information for anyone who wants it.

I would love to hear from anyone who can relate to me.

if there is a True Results in Dallas, I personally think that is the way to go. The aftercare and support they offer is awesome. I am 55 and had my surgery in May. Good Luck!

Hi, I am 57 and had my surgery in September.

Thanks for responding. Looks like you are doing great! Congratulations!

I am developing another short list of doctors. True Results is definitely on the list. My #1 priority is to find an exceptional surgeon. Being 65, having had a heart attack in '98, and a very high BMI, I am concerned. All the tests show my heart to be stable, but you never know.

My 2nd priority is a PA I like and good support staff. I dislike the PA my current doctor has.

I love your user name. I think we may be soul sisters. What other groups do you belong to?

Kate

Hi,

Thanks for writing. You are doing fabulous! To lose 28 pounds in 1 month is incredible. The average loss with the band is 1-2 lbs. a week, so you are way above-average. What's your secret?

Kate

Is this group dead? I hope not.